Watts, Mann Named Kansas State Football MVPs

Posted Dec 5, 2005

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Sophomore Marcus Watts was named both the Wildcats’ defensive and special teams MVP and senior Victor Mann was tapped as the team’s offensive MVP as Kansas State held is 2005 awards ceremony Saturday afternoon at McCain Auditorium.

Watts, who was also K-State’s 2004 special teams MVP, appeared in nearly 1,000 plays during the 2005 season, taking virtually every snap on defense for the Wildcats while serving as a mainstay on just about every special teams unit. For the season, Watts finished second on the squad in tackles with 71 and led the Wildcats in stops during Big 12 play with 57.

Victor Mann, one of the nation’s top fullbacks, consistently displayed his blocking skills during the season and emerged as a solid rushing threat late in the year. He rushed 15 times for 79 yards and averaged 5.2 yards per carry in the Wildcats’ final three games, including touchdown runs vs. both Nebraska and Missouri. He also hauled in 11 receptions for 138 yards and a touchdown on the year, averaging 12.5 yards per catch.

Sophomore wide receiver Jordy Nelson was tapped as the offense’s most improved player after moving from the secondary to wide receiver during the off-season. Nelson also picked up the Anthony A. Bates Memorial Award, which is given to the player who best promotes team unity and unselfishness.

The defense’s most improved player award went to junior linebacker Zach Diles, who didn’t join the team until May but worked his way into the linebacker rotation and finished the year as K-State’s fifth leading tackler with 50 stops.

Senior offensive lineman Jeromey Clary took home the most hardware with four awards. In addition to sharing the Wildcats’ Offensive Lineman of the Year award with Greg Wafford, Clary also received K-State’s Lifter of the Year Award, the Paul Coffman Award for outstanding leadership and the Scholar-Athlete Award.

2005 K-State Football Team Awards

Lifter of the Year
– Jeromey Clary (OL)

Paul Coffman Award
(outstanding leadership, attitude and improvement) – Jeromey Clary (OL)

Overachiever Award
(top freshman in strength and conditioning) – Ross Diehl (LB)

Red Raider Award
(top contribution on scout squad) – Eric Childs (DE)

Scholar-Athlete Award
– Jeromey Clary (OL)

Purple Pride Award
(walk-on displaying quality play, leadership and work ethic) – Ian Campbell (DE)

Ken Ochs Courage Award
Carlos Alsup (RB)

Bob Cope Memorial Award
(senior walk-on displaying character and determination) – Justin Evans (QB)

Nancy Bennett Memorial Award
(representing fight, spirit and positive nature) – Blake Seiler (DE)
/Allan Evridge (QB)

Anthony A. Bates Memorial Award
(promoting team unity and unselfishness) – Jordy Nelson (WR)

Joan Friederich Award
(team concept) – Davin Dennis (WR)
/Ted Sims (LB)

Jim "Shorty" Kleinau Award
(loyalty, hard work and commitment) – Brandon Archer (LB)

Most Improved Defense Player
– Zach Diles (LB)

Most Improved Offensive Player
– Jordy Nelson (WR)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman
– Jeromey Clary/Greg Wafford

Outstanding Defensive Front Seven Player
Quintin Echols

Special Teams Player of the Year
Marcus Watts

Most Valuable Player-Defense
– Marcus Watts

Most Valuable Player-Offense
– Victor Mann

Related Stories
At a loss
 -by PurplePride.com  Nov 12, 2005
Team Focus: Finishing Strong
 -by PurplePride.com  Nov 10, 2005
Evridge prepares to go back home
 -by PurplePride.com  Nov 9, 2005

Get the 2014 Scout.com Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from PurplePride.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
OL Jeromey Clary (profile)
QB Allan Evridge (profile)
FB Victor Mann (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Mansfield HS > Alumni
Football > Papillion-La Vista Senior HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]